Paul Solie

An apparent tie vote in a race for Clinton town supervisor is one of the more unusual outcomes in the spring 2019 election held Tuesday, April 2, 2019, according to unofficial results posted by the Barron County Clerk’s office.

In the only statewide race for seat on the Wisconsin Supreme Court, the results were too close to call at 10 p.m. Tuesday, April 2. With 74 percent of the state’s precincts reporting, perceived liberal appellate court judge Lisa Neubauer held a slight edge over conservative judge Brian Hagedorn, 490,136 votes (or 51 percent of the total) to 472,381 (49 percent).

Hagedorn was a clear winner in Barron County with 4,494 votes to Neubauer’s 3,970 (with 34 of 36 precincts reorting)

In the News-Shield circulation area, there were contests in three municipalities -- the city of Barron and the towns of Maple Grove and Clinton, as well as one contested election in the Cameron School District.

City voters choose Solie

Voters in the city of Barron elected local resident Paul Solie to an at-large seat on the City Council. Solie polled 402 votes to Isaak Abdi Mohamed’s 300. Both were new candidates who filed for office after incumbent council member Tony Allen decided not to run for re-election.

Mohamed was the first member of Barron’s Somali community to campaign for public office in the city.

Fellow council members Kevin Haller and Rod Nordby were unopposed and were re-elected to the council.

Incumbents win in Maple Grove

In the town of Maple Grove, incumbent Town Chair Paul Hutchison held off a challenge by Irvin L. Humphrey, winning by a vote total of 110 to 91. For town supervisor, newcomer Loren Amdall and incumbent Gary Reichert won re-election with 113 and 93 votes, respectively. Other candidates were Lorin Humphrey, 78 votes and Justin Fick, 77.

Tie vote in Clinton

An apparent tie vote took place in a race for town supervisor in the town of Clinton. There, candidates Larry M. Peterson and Larry Nevin each received 62 votes.

These are unofficial vote totals pending a canvass later this month.

Incumbent Zachary Schauf was re-elected with 80 votes, while incumbent Robert Heil polled 38 votes. Town chair Jim Gores ran unopposed and was re-elected with 12 votes.

Phillips, Gifford win

In a race for two seats on the Cameron School Board, incumbent member Gene Phillips led a four-candidate field with 157 votes.

Newcomer Jeff “Snuffy” Gifford was close behind with 156 votes. Incumbent Trevor Wilson lost a re-election bid with 99 votes, while the fourth candidate, Shannon Breed, polled 90 votes.

Other elections

In the village of Cameron, four unopposed incumbents were re-elected, including Mark Trowbridge, village president, and trustees David Ebner, Russell Hulback and Randy Hill.

Gary Borgen and Gregory Wirth were re-elected to the offices of president and trustee (respectively) in the village of Dallas.

Bradley Miller and Jay Miller won re-election to the Prairie Farm Village Board. Neither incumbent had an opponent.

Unopposed Prairie Farm School Board incumbents Chuck Richards and James Salsbury were re-elected.

Three members of the Barron Area School Board ran unopposed and were re-elected to three-year terms, including board chair Jeffrey Nelson, secretary Kelli Rasmussen and board member Danette Hellmann.