Another title

The Cameron girls cruised to their seventh consecutive Lakeland Conference championship at the league run held Tuesday, Oct. 9, at Balsam Lake. It was the Comets’ final conference meet before joining the Heart O’North next year. Pictured are: (from left) Taylor Severt, Aurora Felonk, Mady Robel, Hannah Gillett, Tori Gerber, Sydney Lucas, Kennady Sevals, Cali Romsos, Hannah Zimmerman and Izzy Thompson.

The Cameron girls won the 14-team Lakeland Conference Cross Country Meet held Tuesday, Oct. 9, at Balsam Lake, with Aurora Felonk, Tori Gerber, Taylor Severt, Cali Romsos, Mady Robel and Brittany Breed all receiving All-Conference medals.

The Cameron girls also won a meet at Iron River last week as both the Comet boys and girls prepare for the Div. 3 WIAA South Shore Sectional set for Saturday, Oct. 20, at Northern Pines Golf Course in Iron River.

“The boys’ race will start at 1 p.m. and the girls will run at 2:00,” Cameron coach David Gerber said. “Both of our teams are running very well right now. We’ve really improved a lot in the last 2 weeks. I feel like our runners are peaking at the right time. We’re ready to have a great day at the sectionals.”

At the conference meet, a team effort gave the Cameron girls a very impressive seventh consecutive Lakeland Conference championship.

“Izzy Thompson and Sydney Lucas were less than 5 seconds behind our All-Conference runners,” Gerber said. “The girls scored 40 points, while second place St. Croix Falls scored 85. The girls ran well. It was a team effort. We placed eight girls in the top 20.

“I was really proud of how well the girls competed. The conditions were about as bad as they could have been. It had rained for several days and the course was extremely wet; several of our girls fell more than once on the course. It was raining, windy and cold during the race. Even with the tough conditions, most of our runners were within a few seconds of their personal best times.”

Flambeau’s Rachel Lawton and Kristin Lawton finished first and second, respectively, with the exact same finish time of 20:23.51. Felonk had Cameron’s best time of 21:51 to finish seventh in a field of 73 runners. Seven of the 13 runners to finish behind Felonk were from Cameron.

The Comets’ boys ran to a fourth place finish with 90 team points. Grantsburg won the league title with 57 points, followed by host Unity (79) and Clear Lake (81).

Birchwood’s Matthew Marcinske earned yet another medal, taking first place overall in 17:08. Josh Halverson was sixth for the Comets in 18:12. Logan Severt finished seventh just 11 seconds later.

“The boys ran hard and put forth a solid effort,” Gerber said. “The top teams were just a little more experienced than our young team. Josh Halverson and Logan Severt earned All-Conference. Logan had his best time of the season, which is very impressive considering the conditions. Our other scoring runners were Brandon Groskopf, Tyler Larson and Tanner Gerber.

“At the middle school level, seventh grader Tyson Lucas placed first in the conference race. Tyson has been running well all year but really stepped it up to win the race. It’s exciting to see this much talent at the lower grades.”

 Cameron’s varsity runners were back on the road Thursday, Oct. 11, competing in a 10-team invitational hosted by South Shore High School in Iron River.

“Again the runners competed in difficult conditions,” the coach said. “The course was dry, but the temperature at race time was 37 degrees. The girls battled through and placed first. The girls won with a score of 38, while second place Ladysmith had 67 points.

“We had eight girls who medaled and placed in the top 14 runners. Medalists were Aurora Felonk, Tori Gerber, Cali Romsos, Taylor Severt, Mady Robel, Izzy Thompson, Sydney Lucas and Brittany Breed – really an incredible performance, especially considering they had just competed in the conference two days earlier.”

Cameron’s boys finished third with 61 points. First place Lakeview Christian Academy of Duluth, Minn., scored a 29. Medaling for Cameron were Josh Halverson (fourth overall), Logan Severt (ninth) and Brandon Groskopf (10th).